Turning off location history won’t hide where you are when you usage search, Maps or weather. Here’s exactly how to prevent being tracked


*

When you revolve off “location history” Google still tracks your place when girlfriend use numerous of its key services including Maps, search and the weather. Here’s just how to really turn all of it off.

You are watching: How to hide location on google maps

A report from the associated Press has actually highlighted that the feature called location history is simply one of the systems that Google offers to monitor your ar for personalised services, neighborhood search and also other objectives such as advertising.

When you revolve off location history, Google stops instantly recording your location for features such as the Maps timeline, yet it cautions you the “some place data may be conserved as part of your task on other Google services, favor Search and Maps”. Once you carry out a search, accessibility Google Maps, or get the weather, either manually or immediately through a smartphone widget, Google will certainly still log your location.

To stop it from doing for this reason you should turn turn off another setting called “Web & app Activity”.

To execute so on an Android an equipment follow these steps:

Head to settings. Tap ~ above Google then Google Account Tap ~ above the data & personalisation tab and then ~ above web & application Activity Toggle Web & application Activity turn off

To revolve off ar history:

Head come the Data & personalisation tab as over Tap ~ above location history and also toggle the setup off for each phone or machine connected to your Google account

To carry out so for iPhones, iPads and also computers:

Toggle the web & application Activity setup off The toggle because that location history is directly listed below the net & app task setting, which friend can additionally toggle turn off

Alternatively you have the right to navigate to the setup by complying with these steps:

open up Google in your browser and also sign in to your account click your profile picture in the top right corner and on the Google account button click Personal information & privacy climate my activity click on activity controls Toggle off web & app activity

To review and also delete your videotaped activity, including location data, Google’s My task panel enables you exactly how to delete individual and group events.

See more: H I Ain T No Ways Tired Lyrics, The Story Behind I Don'T Feel Noways Tired

You can likewise delete your location background in your Google Maps timeline by clicking on the bin icon.