Facebook Messenger is among the society media platform’s most well-known features, and while that a an excellent way for individuals to have actually private conversations, it’s additionally used by numerous as a means to begin a fight or say things they don’t really mean. The not uncommon to make a wrong on Messenger or soon regret sending out a message.

You are watching: How to remove messages from facebook messenger

Previously, once these failure happened, we just had actually to permit them sit there, kept in facebook Messenger for every eternity. Currently this is no much longer the case.

Further reading

You can likewise archive and also delete whole threads friend no longer wish come look at. Deleting on facebook messages ~ above your desktop computer or mobile maker takes only seconds, but deleting whole threads only uses to your own inbox, not your friend’s. Here’s how to perform it:

Deleting message on her desktop

Step 1: Log right into Facebook like you typically would.

Step 2: Click the Chat Bubble in the upper-right corner, adhered to by See every in Messenger. The last option is located in the bottom-left.

*
screenshot

Step 3: to delete an entire message thread, float over the conversation and also click the Three Horizontal Dots symbol on the ideal side of the blog post in your inbox. Afterward, pick Delete from the menu that pops up.

*
screenshot

Step 4: You will then be presented with 3 options: Cancel, Delete, or Hide Conversation. Click Delete to continue.

Step 5: come delete a part of her conversation, click into the conversation, and hover end the post you would choose to delete. Then, click the Three Horizontal Dots and press Remove.

*
screenshot

Step 6: If it’s been less than 10 minutes because you’ve sent the message, you will then be offered the option to eliminate the post for everyone or simply for yourself. Once you’ve made your selection, press Remove.

The person on the other finish of the conversation will be able to see that you removed a article if you determined the “for everyone” option, but the content will no much longer be available. If it’s been much more than 10 minutes, you’ll only be able to remove the message for yourself.

Deleting messages on your mobile device

Step 1: If you haven’t already, download the Messenger app for one of two people iOS or Android, and also log in together you usually would.

Step 2: If you desire to delete whole conversation, press and hold down the conversation, or if you an iOS user, swipe the conversation come the left and also select the Red rubbish Can. We know it’s simple to do this through mistake, so don’t stress about losing something valuable. Your phone will constantly ask you come confirm before deleting. This is true because that both Android and also iOS.

*
screenshot

Step 3: If you desire to delete a single message, get in the conversation, host down the post you desire to delete, and tap eliminate at the bottom. Then select Remove for You. If you have an Android, girlfriend will need to pick Remove again to confirm. IOS individuals won’t check out this last prompt, so be sure you desire to choose Remove for You.

See more: How To Use Aloe Vera To Lose Weight With Aloe Vera Juice? Weight Loss: How To Use Aloe Vera To Lose Weight

*
screenshot

You’ll have the ability to remove the post for anyone if friend take action within 10 minutes of sending out it. Her phone will provide you the choice to remove for anyone or just yourself. As soon as you’ve made your selection, press Remove. When the plan recipient will have the ability to see the you removed a post if you selected “for everyone,” lock won’t be able to see the message’s content. If that been much more than 10 minutes, you will do it only have the ability to remove the text for yourself.