Kent is a contents creator that enjoys sharing she knowledge about consumer tech. She enjoys playing black color Desert Mobile.

You are watching: How to unsend messages on facebook


*

Unsend is a function in Messenger that permits you come permanently remove a message for everyone in the chat.


How come Unsend a blog post on Messenger

Facebook has recently rolled out a new feature because that Messenger called “Unsend”. Many thanks to this new feature, users now have the option to recall message via its famous messaging app. V the help of this new message remind option, girlfriend no longer need to worry about sending messages by mistake. This also gives you the possibility to correct messages simply in case there space typos.


Once recalled, the unsent message will no longer show up in her conversation and also to her recipient. The said option deserve to be offered regardless if a user is law a personal chat or a group chat. The does not work if friend are sending out encrypted chats.

Here’s the Catch!

Users must keep in mind the the unsend option has a 10-minute time limit. A user is only enabled to unsend or recall a message during this time frame. After ~ that, you deserve to still eliminate the article from your chat screen yet it will certainly still be visible to her recipient.


It is also important to keep in mind that while facebook now enables its individuals to recall messages, it will certainly still store a copy that the message on that server. While facebook didn’t disclose exactly how long that will keep the copies, it listed that these messages will certainly be at some point deleted.

Step-by-Step guide to Unsending messages in Facebook

How this unsend function works is plain and also simple. Simply follow the steps listed below:

Tap and also hold the post you want to unsend. This will carry up the options that you can do with the selected message. If you space using the internet version of on facebook or Messenger, merely click the 3 dots symbol that shows up in the overflow food selection whenever you float over a article in a chat or team conversation. Among the list of options, pick “Remove”.Facebook will certainly then ask you even if it is you want to “Unsend because that Everyone” or “Remove because that You”.Select “Unsend because that Everyone”. This will remove the post in everyone’s conversation, not just you.When prompted, choose “Remove” come confirm and also that’s it! The message will no longer appear in your post thread as well as to everyone whom you’ve sent out it to.

Do note that as soon as the message has actually been unsent, Facebook will certainly leave some sort of subtle notification informing everyone that you’ve unsent a message. Even so, there will certainly be no option for them to retrieve the original message.


So over there you have it! The following time autocorrect messes up your message, girlfriend no longer need to freak out. Simply unsend it and you’re done.


Want to Unsend message on Instagram Instead? Here's How!

This content is accurate and also true to the finest of the author’s knowledge and also is not intended to substitute for formal and individualized advice from a standard professional.

See more: How To Know If I Have Tonsil Stones : Causes, Symptoms, And Treatment


© 2019 Kent Peligrino

Comments

Kent Peligrino (author) from Philippines on in march 08, 2019:

Lol. I'm sure numerous can relate and also will certainly find this new Facebook Messenger feature very useful! ;)

Farrah Young from Lagos, Nigeria on in march 08, 2019:

This is a an excellent initiative and about time too. Therefore the next time an upset wife sends a wordy post to her partner then realizes she mistakes, she can quickly recall it. Lol.